//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Block Party 2009

Here is just one story that happened something like this…

“…A man came up to me to ask me why his stuff got picked up under the freeway and how we threw it away. About two to four minutes into our conversation, not expressing any anger towards me about it, said something like, “Man, I pray.”

I asked him if he prayed last night and he said, “Yes.” I then went on to tell him the story of the man who got lowered down through the roof to get in front of Jesus. Specifically mentioning how Jesus then told him to pick up his mat and go home.

So I told him that if he prayed to the Father last night and just possibly the LORD would now say, to pick up his mat and go home. This homeless man, in his late 40’s then went on to say how he had unfinished business with his mom. I told him to go home and honor his mom and get right with her. I then told him to go home and honor his father too.

He told me that his father had died the year prior. I responded, “Good, now go home and honor your father by being the son the he and you wanted to be.”
He stopped, with a shakiness with his voice, was blown away and shook my hand and said “Thank you. I am going home”…”

Praise God, one more prodigal was sent home.

Here are a few pics from the block party, in which about a thousand people represented from all walks of life showed up.

Thanks to all the volunteers! We couldn’t have done all this without all you 700 that came out to serve!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 129 other followers

Archives

